Church History

In 1899, a congregation of Danish Lutherans met in the lecture hall of Grand View College. It was later decided to erect a church on the land opposite the college. From 1918 onward, the congregation called St. Johannes met at this building. The church’s name later changed to Luther Memorial Church. For decades, the history and experience of the congregation was firmly linked to Grand View College (now Grand View University), and continues today.